Visa Requirements for Maltese Nationals travelling abroad (as at 27/11/2013)


For an updated information please refer to the following website:

Maltese nationals do NOT require a visa to enter the following countries:

Albania Guatemala Republic of South Korea Andorra Herzegovina
Romania Antigua & Barbuda Honduras Samoa Argentina
Hungary San Marino Austria Iceland Serbia
Armenia Ireland Seychelles Bahamas Israel
Singapore Barbados Italy Sierra Leone Belgium
Jamaica Slovak Republic Belize Japan Slovenia
Bosnia Kiribati Solomon Islands Botswana Kosovo
South Africa Brazil Latvia Spain Bulgaria
Liechtenstein St Lucia Canada Lithuania St Vincent and the Grenadines
Chile Luxembourg Swaziland Columbia Malawi
Sweden Costa Rica Malaysia Switzerland Croatia
Maldives The Gambia Cyprus Mauritius Tonga
Czech Republic Mexico Trinidad and Tobago Denmark Moldova
Tunisia Dominica Monaco Tuvalu Ecuador
Montenegro Uganda El Salvador Morocco Ukraine
Estonia Nauru United Kingdom Federal Republic of Germany Nicaragua
Uruguay Fiji Netherlands Vatican City Finland
Norway Vanuatu France New Zealand Venezuela
FYROM (Macedonia) Panama United States (see notes below) Greece Paraguay
Zambia Granada Peru Guyana Poland
Georgia Portugal


  • Travelling for tourism purposes in the USA does not require a visa for a maximum of 90 days on the following conditions:
    1. One has to travel with a biometric passport.
    2. One has to fill in an e-form called ESTA at least 72 hrs prior to departure, such information has to be submitted via the US Embassy website:
    3. Any Maltese national who is still in possession of a valid entry visa on a non biometric passport, can still enter the USA.
    4. If any of the above mentioned criteria is not met than a Maltese national needs to apply for a US visa
  • Businessmen, students, and missionaries only require visa for Colombia and Peru.
  • Maltese nationals do not require a visa to visit Hong Kong for a period of up to 90 days.
  • Maltese nationals travelling to the SULTANATE of OMAN will be given a visa, valid for a 14-day visit, upon arrival at Seeb International Airport. They do not require a sponsor from the Sultanate of Oman.
  • Visa for the Philippines is not required for a period not exceeding 21days.
  • Visa for Taiwan is not required for a period not exceeding 30 days.
  • Visa for Brunei Darussalam is not required for a period not exceeding 30 days.
  • Visa for Kuwait is issued upon arrival.
  • Visa for Nepal is issued on arrival
  • Visa for the Dominican Republic is issued on arrival
  • Visa for St Kitts and Nevis is applied for online on the following website by clicking on visiting and visitor information respectively. Maltese nationals do not require a visa to visit St Kitts and Nevis for a period of up to 90 days.
  • Visa for Turkey can be obtained at the Turkish border gates until April 10, 2014. Following this date, only electronic visas will be applied and can be obtained online on the webpage: The E-visa has been applied since April 17, 2013.

Maltese nationals travelling to countries not mentioned above NEED TO APPLY for an Entry or Transit Visa before proceeding from Malta. For visa requirements and any other information kindly contact the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Consular Department.